In the mist of learning that my father’s remaining leg was recently amputated due to diabeties, I am learning that you have to take care of your self or you will suffer the consequences of these illnesses. 

Watching someone suffer is not a pleasurable event, especially if you can’t do anything to help the person in pain and discomfort. My father has been in the hospital 3 weeks today and has to go to a rehab facility after he leaves the hospital. 

One of the best things that came out of this situation is that he decided to become closer to God. Even in some of our worst situations, God gives us an opportunity to have a better relationship with him through suffering. It may not seem fair at the time, but it’s worth it in the long run. I, myself is a sufferer of diabetes type two and Crohn’s disease as well so I know what it feels like to suffer. So, I have to make up my mind to take care of myself better or else go through the same thing that my dad is going through now. I believe sometimes God shows us how to avoid making a life altering decision by watching someone else’s misfortune or suffering.

